Uniform dust jackets

I’ve been struggling to come up with something else to put on the bookcase we’ve been using as a TV stand. It was mostly filled, but there was still space on the right side of the upper shelf to add something.

A few days ago, it hit me.

I’d been encountering books covered in kraft paper for ages on the interwebs, and a small stack of them could be perfect in that little space on the bookcase. Plus, *bonus* it would clear up some room on our already-full bookcases upstairs.

So yesterday, I grabbed some wrapping paper from Target that looked like kraft paper (it actually has blackish/gray pinstripes, but I think the stripes are fun) and got to work. I thought it was going to be a time-intensive project, but the first online tutorial I looked at was super simple (just cut out a big piece of paper and fold it until it fits the book), and I flew through it.

2013-03-29 20.21.05 HDR Four down, one to go

2013-03-30 13.11.10 HDR

All finished! Love the stripes.

2013-03-30 13.00.31 HDR

All in all, a super easy project that I’m really pleased with. I was going to write the titles and authors in white ink like in the first picture above, but I think I’ve decided against it. I would almost certainly mess up the writing, and I really like just the tiny stripes. Now I just need to figure out what to sit on top of them so I can have my bowl back.

Leave a comment

4 Comments

  1. Linda Geraghty

     /  03/30/2013

    I love it. Really cute. Maybe a small black and white photo of the two of you in place of the bowl?? Would look cute there (in my humble opinion).

    Reply
  2. Keith Geraghty

     /  03/30/2013

    Looks beeeautiful! Very neat! I like that. Monkish.

    Reply

Leave a comment

  • The Authors

    We're Daniel and Elise, and this is our blog! :)